In re: Secular Central

So I’ve come to watch Bill O’Reilly from time to time, mostly for a chuckle as its hard for me to take him so seriously these days, with his ‘War on Christmas’ theme, where he feels that the liberals are destorying Christmas by banning its usage in public, stores not putting up Christmas signs. Anyway, I haven’t gotten to catch his show (un)fortunatly recently, as its not a top priority (I do have it and some other shows set to record on SageTV on my computer, which is a great program if I haven’t plugged it yet on here, essentially like Tivo) Anyway, I was watching the Daily Show last night as I was going to bed and they had a clip of the O’Reilly Factor, playing a clip of the Daily Show and then claiming that they were helping lead the assault on Christmas, refering to it as ‘Secular Central’ at one point . (See transcript of both here) The Daily Show made a clever retort, including pointing out the clip they were using was a year old, and calling the channel ‘godless central’

I was then looking at some other accounts by O’Reilly on his Christmas crusade, including an interview with Nulman, an author on customer service, who said stores had switched to saying Happy Holiday’s because they wanted to include non-Christians (more sales? new idea) and that Happy Holiday’s didn’t offend Christians. However acording to Bill, it does offend Christmas, just as according to him Merry Christmas doesn’t offend non-Christians. Go figure? (See here)wonder where this research is coming from.

NULMAN: “Season’s Greetings” and “Happy Holidays,” Bill, does not offend Christians.

O’REILLY: Yes, it does. It absolutely does. And I know that for a fact. But the smart way to do it is “Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukah, Season’s Greetings, Happy Kwanzaa.”

NULMAN: It’s a long list.

O’REILLY: It’s OK, you’ve got a big store. You’ve got a big store.

Anyway, to me Christmas was more about family, I could care less what stores put up in their windows, and the whole commercialization of Christmas has more to do with killing Christmas (if its been killed, but I have to think your pretty weak if you can let Target’s lack of Merry Christmas advertising ruin your Christmas) then any liberal conspiracy, but hey, what do I know.

Leave a Reply

