In re: McMansions, planned subdivisions and the current trend of horrible building.

I spent four summers painting houses, the company I worked for specialized in large, elaborate and expensive to paint houses. While expensive to maintain, these houses have generally actual architecture and used quality building materials, which today may be almost impossible to use affordably. Unfortunatly or fortunatly I’ve developed a strong distaste for the planned community, with cookie-cutter houses, that all resememble some master plan, and all have street names that echo that mentality. I prefer organic growth, where the homes don’t match, each has character and was created with some estethics in mind, not todays approach apparently.
So with that in mind I found Slate’s Supersize My House photo essay quite interesting, as it goes over the McMansions and their style, and a critique of them. Worth a look I think.

Leave a Reply

