In re: Pan-Seared Jerk Duck Salad

The other day, after a fun day of attending a multi state professional responsibility exam review class, I ate for the first time at the Banana Bean cafe, which is in German Village here in Columbus. I had read and heard good things about the place which serves Caribbean/Floridian food. I hadn’t really known anything about their menu in advance, but was pretty impressed with the variety. I had a salad with cooked apples, blue cheese, walnuts and I added their jerk rubbed chicken. The combination was pretty good (I also wanted to try one of their many interesting sides, having the grits with goat cheese).

Inspired by the salad there I made the other day my own version, this time using some duck breasts I had picked up at the north market. I first scored the fat side of the breast and then gave both sides a rub with the Walkerswood jerk paste I am very fond of, in addition to a spice rub I keep around that is mostly salt and pepper along w/ a few other spices. These went skin/fat side down into the dry and very hot skillet for about 5 minutes until the skin had deeply browned and crisped, then flipped and into the oven for another 6 or so minutes, and then out to rest (this brings the duck in at about a medium). In the meantime I had made up the salad using a mesculin or spring mix, thinly shaved english cucumber, crumbled Danish blue cheese, matchstick apples and ‘jerked’ apple slices (apple slices I cooked up in the remaining duck fat / jerk seasoning that was in the pan). I made up a dressing that was essentially a kicked up honey french dressing and served it all up w/ some crostini.

2 Responses

  1. Looks awesome! I love Banana Bean, but I haven’t been there too many times yet. šŸ˜‰


    Walker
    http://www.ColumbusUnderground.com

  2. I ate at Banana Bean for the first time the other day with 2 work colleagues. I had the swordfish tacos, which was very heavy on the lettuce and very light on the swordfish. I wouldn’t order it again. But, I too was intrigued by many of the items on the menu (enouh to return despite the swordfish mishap) and can’t wait to taste me some grits! The only other negative comment I have is that the service was super slow since they were slammed at the lunch hour. But, one colleague said it reminded him of a little restaurant one might find in NYC, so this gem is secured as a place I will return.

Leave a Reply

