Graduation — I will be sad to see them go

Classes are over for me.  Soon, after two weeks of exams, we’ll have the law school Hooding, where 200 plus students will turn into lawyers.

In years past, it has been pretty depressing just how few graduating students I actually knew beyond a name and a face.  Teaching mostly upper-level classes does not allow for much opportunity to get a sense of the students in your classes beyond their occasional answers to legal questions.

This year is different.  I’ll be a depressed for a different reason.  I know pretty well probably over 50 of the graduating students.  There’s my legal writing class from first year, then my Oxford crew (of which Ed is/was a part), and then a few more from my IP classes, especially those who suffered through my courses twice or even three times (the last category deserve some kind of medal)!  I probably know these students the best of all the ones I taught in my career, except for perhaps a very close tie with the first class I ever taught at Stanford.  I will be sad to see them go.

Leave a Reply

