Is Joe Borowski the Jose Mesa of the Indians?

Hats off to the Cleveland Indians for beating the Yankees quite convincingly to make it to the ALCS. 

Because I’m from Cleveland, though, I have a defense mechanism that makes me feel very cautious about setting myself for heartbreak. 

The team looks great, but I wonder about this “closer” Joe Borowski.  The guy has the most saves this year in the AL, but he’s only had sixteen 1-2-3 out innings.  Yesterday, he gave up a homer (nearly two of them), in contrast with Rafael Betancourt, who pitched lights out in the 8th inning. 

I haven’t seen enough of Borowski this year, so I can’t speak with certainty, but I get this uneasy feeling that he’s the Jose Mesa of the Indians.  If you remember Game 7 of the World Series, Jose Mesa was the closer for the Indians who always seemed to get into trouble.  Mike Jackson pitched a lights out 8th inning, and then I was pleading to the TV that he would stay in to pitch the 9th.  Not to be:  Hargrove put in Jose Mesa who proceeded to squander away a one run lead for the Indians. That’s what dashed the Indians hopes in the 9th inning of the 7th game.  For those who know more about baseball, please comment. 

Leave a Reply

