In re: Audiophile review of Playstation 1

“A year ago, when I heard that some audiophiles were using Sony’s original PlayStation 1 as a CD player—my friend Michael Lavorgna, who writes for 6moons.com, was the first to cross my attention—I was more than a little confused. Sure, I’d heard of the Sony PlayStation, just as I’ve heard of the Game Boy and Nintendo (and Starbucks, and American Idol, and Anderson Cooper). But which is which? What do they look like? How do they work? I don’t know, I don’t know, I don’t know” via  Stereophile 

Came across this fairly recent review of the Playstation one, the now dated video game machine.  What made the review interesting is that they don’t plug the playstation into their TV, instead the audiophile in question is hooking up the PS1 as a CD player to high grade audio equipment and using his audiophile grade ears to examine the results.  Why would anyone want to use what is now obtainable for $15 on ebay as audiophile grade equipment?  Well according to the results: ” the PS1’s midrange was remarkably clean, present, and tactile. On Tony Williamson’s “Boatman,” from Still Light of the Evening (CD, Mapleshade 08952), the guitar fills and G-runs were notably more audible, more nuanced, and more impactful through the PS1 than through Sony’s own SCD-777ES SACD/CD player. Amazing.”  

So the moral of the story?  Well among other things its is certain audiophiles are strange creatures and that while for half of us, knowing that something is labeled newer, better, etc we assume it is, who knows maybe LPs do sound better…

One Response

  1. Good write up, I will be sure to save this in my Mixx account. Have a great evening.

Leave a Reply

