In re: Homemade texas flour tortillas

Breakfast Tacos!

So to improve upon my breakfast tacos I decided this morning to make some fresh flour tortillas, in the Texas style. While many may say that flour tacos are an Americanized bastardization of the corn tortilla, they would be wrong.  True corn tacos dominate mexico, but there is some flour tortillas in the north where wheat grew.  Anyway, thats neither here nor there as breakfast tacos, at least as we are using it is an American creation or adaptation, so using the flour tortillas is of course entirely appropriate no matter what you consider the flour tortillas.

Tortilla dough resting

Banana peppers from the garden and onions

I have only made tortillas a few time and usually make corn ones out of masa for taco purposes, but due to the breakfast nature of my tacos I wanted to use flour and I came across this recipe on the Homesick Texan blog (recipe and link below).  The recipe was interesting as you’ll see it has both milk and no lard or shortening – the milk unexpected and the other decidedly missing (and go read her post on the tortillas as she was on quest to duplicate the TX tortilla).  Eitherway sounded easy so I gave it a try.  Indeed it wasn’t hard, I think next time I’ll roll out them out a tad thinner than I did (they were a hybrid between almost a think pita and a thick tortilla) one of the great things about TX tortillas is their thickness but I may have gone a bit too thick.  Either way they are delicious – pillowy, fresh and with some nice charred spots from the hot cast iron skillet.  They nicely housed my breakfast tacos and made a great start to a Sunday.

Texas Flour Tortillas (adapted from The Border Cookbook by Cheryl Alters Jamison and Bill Jamison)

Ingredients:

Two cups of all-purpose flour (can make them whole wheat by substituting one cup of whole-wheat flour for white flour)

1 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder

1 teaspoon of salt

2 teaspoons of vegetable oil

3/4 cups of warm milk

via An end to my quest: flour tortillas | Homesick Texan.

Leave a Reply

